Skip to main content

Ugandan Passport

Uganda travel documents may only be held by citizens of Uganda. They are processed and issued only by Government of Uganda through the Directorate of Immigration Control (DCIC) and at three Ugandan Missions abroad: Washington DC (United States of America), London (United Kingdom) and Pretoria (Republic of South Africa).

We have four Passport Control Offices in Kampala, Mbale, Mbarara and Gulu.

The main Passport Office is situated at the Ministry of Internal Affairs Plot 75 Jinja Road (entrance is on Old Portbell Rd. The other Passport Offices are located at the RDC Building Mbarara, The Regional Administration Block, Republic Street, Mbale and in Gulu (soon opening).

We also have Regional Immigration Offices which act as passport Application Collection Centers, where you can take your passport application for processing and then you collect a ready Passport. These include: Jinja, Masaka, Fort Portal, Arua, Hoima, Masindi, Gulu (soon to become a full Passport Control Office) and Lira.

Here are 3 links on key information you may need regarding Passport services:

  1. Steps for Passport Application/Renewal/Replacement

    A guide on the Steps to complete Passport Application, Renewal, Replacement etc.

  2. Requirements & Procedure for New/Renewal/Lost

    A description on the Requirements and Procedures required for Renewal, Replacement, Temporary Movement Permits, Change of Names and Certification of Ugandan Passport to complete Passport Application/Renewal/Replacement etc.

  3. Types of Passports

    The Passport Regulations provides for three (3) types of Passports i.e. Diplomatic, Official and Ordinary. This section describes the eligibility and professions that qualify for each category.